A-LIST Asks Bailey Schneider

How did you become a radio DJ?

I always knew I wanted to go into broadcasting. I wanting to get into TV and radio, so I studied a BA Journalism degree at RAU (now UJ) and in my first year I started on RAU radio. I got bitten by the radio bug and instantly fell in love. I worked my way up on Edgars Music Radio, Randshow Radio and then in 2004 I sent a demo through to 94.7 Highveld Stereo. I started training with the radio station and one year later I was asked to be a part of the Afternoon Drive Show with Alex Jay. It’s been 6 incredible years on the drive show and I currently present the show with Mark Pilgrim.

 

What are the three things you can’t live without?

I cannot live without my family and friends, my blackberry and Vanilla Tea.

 

You are often seen on the red carpet, do you have any tips for new comers?

Be comfortable. I learned this the hard way. Yes, you want to look gorgeous and wear fabulous clothes, but if you are not comfortable in your outfit it will show not only to everyone around you, but in the photos too. Remember… it’s all about confidence.

Another tip is to never forget your powder. Shine is the enemy.

 

Which 3 people would you love to meet? Past or present. 

I never got to meet my grandfather. He passed away when my mom was 16 and from the stories I’ve heard about him, I would have LOVED to have spent time with him.

I’d love to meet my favourite author James Patterson. I love crime thrillers and I’m sure he’d be quite fascinating.

I know this is a cliché, but it doesn’t make it less true…. I’d love to meet Nelson Mandela.

 

What is your motto in life?

“When fulfilling your dreams, never forget who you are and from whence you come.” Is one of my favourite quotes.

One of my nicknames is “Little Miss Sunshine” because I am such an optimist. Being happy and positive is a choice in life. We all go through life and we go through really rough times. You can choose to wallow in them or you can choose to take the good from the bad. Life is better and healthier this way.

 

What is your favourite trend at the moment?

Turquoise and coral happen to be my favourite colours, so I am very happy that they are in season.

I am loving bright nails for Summer and wedges are a definite must.

 

Describe the South African fashion industry in 5 words.

Dynamic, authentic, powerful, gorgeous and emerging.

 

What is your favourite destination?

I love Switzerland. I am of Swiss heritage and have family living in Switzerland. The land of gorgeous watches and chocolate…need I say more?

 

What can we expect next from you?

I started my blog “Vanilla Blonde” http://baileyschneidersblog.blogspot a year ago and it brings me such joy writing it daily. I’m glad to see it gaining popularity and I hope it will continue to do so.

I also have a very exciting project that will emerge in at the end of this year/early 2012. I can’t say what it is just yet, but as they say in the classics…”Watch this space.” J

 

What is your most prized designer possession? 

My shoes and my handbags.

 

What do you love about A-LIST?

I love their professionalism, their style, the way they dress REAL women like we have in South Africa. Pure love.

 

