A-LIST Asks Taugheedah – Fashion Editor of Seventeen

How did you become a fashion editor?

I studied Clothing Management for 3yrs. Interned at a fellow magazine for 8 months and then got scouted by Seventeen’s then Fashion Editor. I worked as a fashion assistant at Seventeen for 2 years, was promoted to fashion and promotions coordinator and then in 2010 I was promoted to Fashion Editor. 

 

What are the three things you can’t live without?

My shoe collection, Blackberry and stack of fashion mags.

 

What is your most embarrassing fashion moment ever?

Can’t say I’ve had anything that serious. I usually laugh it off.

 

Which 3 people would you love to meet? Past or present. 

Alexa Chung, Coco Chanel and Twiggy.

 

What is your motto in life?

Que Sera, Sera. (Whatever will be, will be.)

 

What is your favourite trend at the moment?

Mixed Cotton and Sheer blouses.

 

 

Describe the South African fashion industry in 5 words.

Unique, Evolving, Inspirational, Adventurous, Talented.

 

 

What is your favourite destination? Local and abroad.

Cape Town locally. Never been, but would love to go to Morocco and to see the Taj Mahal in India.

 

 

What tips can you give new stylists in the fashion industry?

Love what you do, take the criticism and work with it, identify yourself and have a clear vision.

 

What is your most prized designer possession? 

It’s not in my wardrobe yet but a vintage Marc Jacobs lbd.

 

 

What do you love about A-LIST?

I love how perfectly on trend the store is and I it’s always ahead of the season.

 

twitter: @taugheedah

blog: Littlebow-peep.blogspot.com

