A-LIST Asks Carol Thorns of CODA

How did you become a musician?

 I come from a musical family and one night when I was about 6 years old, my Dad took me to a symphony concert and pointed out the cello section to me. It was love at first sight!  After attending Pro Arte (the art, ballet and music school in Pretoria) I went to study Science at Rhodes but then missed my cello too much and changed career paths. I’ve never looked back.

 

What are the three things you can’t live without?

 My husband (who does all the cooking!), my Kindle (for reading books on the plane) and my electric blanket (a new acquisition!).

 

You’re involved with CODA, and you have gone solo – tell us about your journey?

 I started CODA about 5 years ago and the group has grown from strength to strength over the years. We are all involved in other projects and our respective musical experiences add even more to the mix. I recorded my solo album at the end of 2009 and was fortunate to be nominated for a SAMA for Best Instrumental Album 2010. My solo project has taken me all over the world – to India, the UK (for Edinburgh Festival), Dubai and beyond.  I also love being on stage with the CODA girls – the two different performances complement each other perfectly.

 

Which 3 people would you love to meet? Past or present. 

 Gordon Ramsey – under all that bad language is a solid and talented guy. Arvo Part, an inspiring minimalist composer. And Desmond Tutu – I’d like to just sit and share a pot of Rooibos tea with him.

 

What is your motto in life?

 Seek out the positive things in life and in people.

 

What is your favourite trend at the moment?

 Very long skinny jeans.

 

Describe the South African fashion industry in 5 words.

 Diverse, unique, colourful, individual, fusion.

 

What is your favourite destination?

 The Middle East. I’ve had some of the most amazing performance opportunities in Dubai. I recently performed in the Berg Kalifah (the tallest building on earth) to guests from 97 different countries. I love the heat, the local cuisine and the side of Dubai one can discover away from all the shopping malls.

 

What can we expect next from CODA and Carol Thorns?

 CODA has just released a single in collaboration with DJ Cleo so listen out for our new song on radio nationwide. We have some exciting concerts planned for the summer including Oude Libertas (11 Dec) and New Year’s at Moyo Blouberg. The new song can be bought here.

 On the solo front, I’m experimenting with my loop station, finishing up my music video and planning my next overseas trip. I’ll be performing at the Alliance Francaise in Long Street on the 11th August. My new loop song can be viewed here.
 What do you love about A-LIST?

 CODA wears A-LIST clothes for many of our shows. The pieces are incredibly versatile – we can use them for daytime or evening performances by accessorizing differently. The clothes are one-off pieces so you won’t run the risk of seeing a mirror image of yourself in the audience. We feel great performing in them!

 

Find out more about Carol Thorns and CODA here:

www.codamusic.co.za

www.carolthorns.co.za

www.facebook.com/carolthorns

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/CODA-Africa/125969194138

