A-LIST asks Kia Johnson

How did you become a presenter?

 I began presenting in radio initially a few years back, first with retail radio and later moving into the commercial sector.  While there, I was lucky enough to head off for auditions and land a TV presenting role for SABC 1’s Take5.  I left Joburg to come back to my roots in Cape Town and I am now currently hosting as TV Presenter for EXPRESSO on SABC 3 and a Radio Presenter for 94.5 KFM. 

 

What are the three things you can’t live without?

 Eyeliner, lip-gloss and a good book.

 

Being on Expresso, must mean that you have a very different morning routine?

 HA HA HA, I love this question because, yes, I do.  Being up at 3am in the morning can be quite the challenge.  So that’s when my day starts.  When I arrive on set it’s 4am and I have my hair and make-up done. We have a briefing at 5am for the show and at 5:30am we are presenting live for EXPRESSO.  When I’m done with the show at 8am I then continue over to 94.5KFM where I present traffic from 9am to 12pm.  So my morning and my days are normally packed.

 

What is your favourite trend at the moment?

 The nude lip is in and so sexy. Very va va voom.

 

Describe the South African fashion industry in 5 words.

 Sexy, Stylish, Hot, Original, Evolving.

 

What is your favourite destination?

 Internationally:  New Zealand

Locally: Franschhoek

 

What is your most prized designer possession?

 A gorgeous black and white A-LIST dress that never becomes outdated.

 

Why do you love wearing A-LIST?

 The clothes are very sexy, chic and fit snug onto my physique.  The summer colours are bold and out-there.  While the winter garments have so much pizzazz. I totally love it.

 

Tune in to SABC3 every week day morning from 5:30 to 8:00 to see Kia on the Expresso Show.

Visit Kia’s website.

