A-LIST Asks Asanda Sizani – Fashion Editor at Elle

How did you get into the magazine industry?

I began as junior Producer for an SABC3 fashion series named African Couture. I got the opportunity to interview many magazine editors, visit them at their work places and film behind the scenes of fashion shoots. I decided that with my background in art direction, having written various TV scripts, and having styled numerous productions, that print would be my next step. I applied for a fashion editor position at Drum, which I got at age 23, and after an almost 3 year stint there, applied for the ELLE position.

 

What are the three things you can’t live without?

A watch because I am always late, my iPhone, and a good book or magazine, preferably ELLE

 

What is your favourite trend at the moment?

 The 1950’s trend seen everywhere from Louis Vuitton, Abigail Betz and people like me who love to embrace the Sophiatown glory days. The full swirly skirts and nipped in waist – so flattering. Next season though, I will be doing Prada-reminiscent block-stripes fully.

 

Describe the South African fashion industry in 5 words.

 Emerging, dynamic, innovative, yet fragmented.

 

What is your favourite destination?

Paris – which I will be going to for 2weeks in July.

 

What is your most prized designer possession?

 My Emporio Armani watch. I don’t wear jewellery, but I am a fan of wrist watches.

 

Why do you dress the models in your shoots in A-LIST?

 I use A-LIST product on shoots because they are current and on trend, and in touch with the world of fashion. The beautiful clothes and accessories stocked are not Cape Town, they are not South African even, they reflect what is happening in the fashion world. A-LIST is relevant for every fashionable girl, wherever in the world she is from.

